EVALUATION QUESTION 4: How did you use media technologies in the construction, research, planning and evaluation stages?

Below is a video showing me answering the above evaluation question. Due to me filming this particular video at home using a webcam the quality is very low although I have also provided a written script for the video below for anyone who prefers to read my answer instead of watching it. As you can see from the video, I have combined many different stages of the project together and considered what technologies I required for each of these stages and I have highlighted the main points of my answer in bold writing across the top of this video.

MAIN POINTS OF THE VIDEO

  • WordPress is a resource which has been essential in carrying out the whole project from beginning to end because it has provided me with a resource which can record all my thoughts and feelings as well as any findings and crucial information which I need to include. It also works as a non-face-to-face communication system and my subject teacher was able to continuously keep record of the work I was doing at any given time. What made this particular blogging site useful compared to all the rest was the possibilities it provided me with including allowing me to show my work in any choice of media form and it allowed me to personalise each and every aspect completely so that the work was completely my own.
  • YouTube was another invaluable resource as it was the biggest library of clips I could of hoped for, allowing me access to research videos, music videos and it also provides the feature which allows me to upload my own work something which was necessary in the latter stages of the project. You do have to be aware of the best ways to search for items as there is just such a vast majority of different clips but once you have used it a few times it becomes pretty easy.
  • Compared to last year, editing facilities have been crucial because I have need to use so many for both the moving images and the still ones. Final Cut Pro, an industry based software, allowed me to edit and alter almost anything we had filmed, including many crazy editing tools which I didn’t even know was possible. Picasa 3 was the important editing tool for still images as it was easy to use and allowed me to edit our image in no time at all. Although it did not have as many effects as other software of the similar format, it was perfect for me and Chris
  • High quality cameras are essential, especially for filming as they pick up the slightest detail. Our Panasonic HDC-TM80 camera that we used was great for filming all different distances and angles, as well as being small to transport.   For our digipack, the images we would of had to submit would of been of much lower quality if we hadn’t of used such a high mega pixel camera such as the Nikon D40 and the camera that our photographer used. Although our photos still needed editing, they required less because of these specific cameras.
  • The internet is the largest media platform as it provided me with so many of the different resources I required. I was able to turn to the internet if I needed to research a specific topic, if I wanted to gain knowledge on how to do something particular and if I wanted to just record my new findings. The internet makes possibilities endless.
  • Having media which is accessible wherever you are makes it much easier to carry out a project like this one because it means you can carry out the stages wherever and you will not fall behind. 

THIS IS THE SCRIPT FOR MEDIA EVALUATION QUESTION 4:

MEDIA EVALUATION QUESTION 4

different cameras

Leave a comment